Arriving in Cartagena, Colombia!!!!

What a wonderful place!!!  I’ve spent the last 4 days recovering in Cartagena, and I must say the people here are some of the most beautiful I have encountered in my entire trip…so open, so free…The music is everywhere and families dance in the streets, reminiscent of much of what I saw in the Caribbean, but a stark contrast from Panama and the rest of Central America.

P1000189

Colombia, What a wonderful place!!!  I must say the people here are some of the most beautiful I have encountered in my entire trip…so open, so free…The music is everywhere and families dance in the streets, reminiscent of much of what I saw in the Caribbean, but a stark contrast from Panama and the rest of Central America.

Colonial, beautiful, expensive.  Cartagena is the most touristy town in Colombia, and has the prices to prove it.

Colonial, beautiful, expensive. Cartagena is the most touristy town in Colombia, and has the prices to prove it.

Even though I was completely wiped after the sail into Cartagena, I had arrived on the weekend and had no other choice but to explore the nightlife on my first night.  I walked to the old city center in the early evening, soon to encounter a massive Woodstock-esque concert that had closed off about 10 city blocks.  The tickets had been given out long before, but I somehow made friends with the security guard and he gave me several tickets for free!  Was this an omen for times to come in Colombia?  I invited some Colombians in with me who were watching the concert from outside the gates, and we joined forces for the entire night.  After the concert we hopped in Lillybeth’s car and we were on our way to swankiest discotheque I have ever been to.  My financial luck ran dry as I soon found out that in Colombia, men buy all the drinks.  Dancing until 5 in the morning, I stumbled home with my wallet a bit thinner, but with great stories to share the following morning.  I ended up spending a week in hot and steamy Cartagena, wandering the colonial streets, writing, frequenting hole-in-the-wall eateries, and joining local families for home-cooked meals.

My team for the night.  Colombians know how to roll.

My team for the night. Colombians know how to roll.

Leave a Reply

